Printer Friendly Format

Candidates to become permanent deacons installed as acolytes

By Deacon Tim Donohue Special to The Pilot
Posted: 2/20/2015

Print Friendly and PDF

The deacon candidates installed as acolytes are pictured with Bishop Uglietto outside the Pastoral Center Chapel Feb. 7. Pilot photo/courtesy Office of Permanent Diaconate

Bishop Peter Uglietto presided at the celebration of Installation to the Ministry of Acolyte at the Bethany Chapel at the Pastoral Center in Braintree on Feb. 7, 2015 for 12 men that make up the Deaconate Class of 2015. Father Bob Murray from St. James in Haverhill, Father Carlos Lopez from St. Benedict in Somerville and Father Andy Knobb, St. Williams in Tewksbury concelebrated the Mass with Bishop Uglietto.

The acolyte's duty is to attend to the service of the altar and to assist the deacon and the priest in the liturgical celebration, especially the celebration of the Mass. Bishop Uglietto urged the men during his homily -- using the words of St. Augustine -- to "stretch out your hands" to serve others.

This is the third step in the journey towards ordination as permanent deacons in September. The men began the program as aspirants in September 2012. They were elevated to candidates after their first year. The candidates were installed as Lectors one year later. Now in their fourth year of formation, study and discernment, these men have become acolytes.

Bishop Uglietto said, "At no time has there been a greater need for service in the Church by way of the diaconate and other ministries to assist, especially during this moment of pastoral planning and its efforts toward Evangelization."

Deacons Dan Burns and Pat Guerrini and Sister Mary Reardon from the Office of the Permanent Diaconate were present for the celebration. The new acolytes are: Timothy Booker, from St. Bridget's in Abington and Holy Ghost in Whitman; Paul Carroll from St. Theresa in Sherborn and Most Precious Blood in Dover; Nicholas Cruz from St. James in Haverhill; Joseph Dorlus from St. Angela Merici; Mattapan; James Kearney and Kelley McCormick from St. Mary's of the Assumption in Dedham; Jonathan Mosely from St. Bernadette in Randolph; John Murray and Roger Vierra from Holy Mother Collaborative including St. Helen Parish in Norwell and St. Mary of the Sacred Heart in Hanover; Charles Rossignol from Immaculate Conception in Marlborough; Jose Torres from St. Benedict in Somerville, and Thomas Walsh, Jr from St. William's in Tewksbury.