Home » Local »  12 receive Medeiros Scholarships

12 receive Medeiros Scholarships

The 2010 Boston University Medeiros scholars pictured with Father Paul Helfrich, B.H.; Bishop Walter Edyvean, university president Dr. Robert Brown and Sister Olga Yaqob. Boston University photo/Kalman Zabarsky

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

BOSTON -- Boston University has awarded its annual Cardinal Medeiros scholarships to incoming freshmen for the 2010-11 academic year.

The scholarships have been awarded every year since 1986 and are named in memory of Cardinal Humberto Medeiros, who served as Archbishop of Boston from 1970 until his death in 1983. The Medeiros scholarships are full scholarships to the university.

They are awarded to graduates of Catholic high schools within the Archdiocese of Boston. Winners were chosen by a committee consisting of officials from Boston University and the Archdiocese of Boston and are selected based on their strong academic achievement, leadership qualities, and contribution to their school and community.

This year's 12 recipients are: John Bireley of Xaverian Brothers High School in Westwood, Paige Coles of St. Clement High School in Medford, Ronald DiTullio and Laura Forth of Austin Preparatory School in Reading, Michael Gustin of Boston College High School in Dorchester, Ann Keane of Fontbonne Academy in Milton, Brian Kimball of Archbishop Williams High School in Braintree, Jonathan Mancini of Arlington Catholic High School, Ryan Narciso Cardinal Spellman High School in Brockton, Michael O'Rourke of Malden Catholic High School, Molly Rokosz of Central Catholic High School in Lawrence, and Daryl Thomas of Trinity Catholic High School in Newton.

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

Submit a Letter to the Editor