Home » Local »  Archdiocese honors teachers with Excellence in Education Awards

Archdiocese honors teachers with Excellence in Education Awards

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

BRAINTREE -- The Catholic Schools Office, with support from the Catholic Schools Foundation, announced the recipients of this year's Archdiocese of Boston Excellence in Education Awards during a Zoom call on April 28.

The Excellence in Education Awards honor teachers who witness to their faith and exemplify high quality academics, "developing both saints and scholars." Teachers can be nominated for this award by their students, colleagues and principals. Ten recipients are selected, five from elementary schools and five from high schools. Each recipient will receive $1,500 and be honored at a formal luncheon in September.

In their remarks at the start of the call, Cardinal Seán P. O'Malley and superintendent Thomas Carroll both expressed their appreciation for how well the Catholic schools adapted to virtual learning in a short amount of time when the schools closed to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

"We will be forever grateful for our teachers' dedication to the mission of Catholic education, especially during this time of unprecedented challenges," Cardinal O'Malley said.

Carroll noted he had just passed his first anniversary as superintendent of Catholic schools.

"One of my joys looking back on the past year was the pleasure of meeting principals and teachers across the archdiocese and seeing the level of commitment across the board," he said.

The Excellence in Education Award recipients for 2020 are:

John Aversa, Catholic Memorial School, West Roxbury

Jayne Franchini, Arlington Catholic High School, Arlington

Patricia Girvan, Sacred Heart School, Roslindale

Robert Gray, St. Peter School, Cambridge

Madeline Jarrett, Mt. Alvernia High School, Newton

Corrine Kalaijian, St. Agatha School, Milton

Maria Lyons, Mt. Alvernia High School, Newton

Eric Maurer, St. Paul's Choir School, Cambridge

Elizabeth Pilla, Fontbonne Academy, Milton

Alexander Ward, Ursuline Academy, Dedham

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

Submit a Letter to the Editor


Comments Policy